“Bawumia capable of picking No. 2” – Evans Afari Gyan Yeboah


The Bono Regional Organiser of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), Evans Afari Gyan Yeboah, has affirmed his trust in the Vice-President and NPP Flagbearer Mahamudu Bawumia’s absolute authority and capability in selecting the party’s running mate.

In a letter, he acknowledged Bawumia’s astute judgment and unparalleled understanding of the party’s ethos. Mr Yeboah expressed wholehearted confidence in Bawumia’s ability to make the best decision for the collective interest of the party and the nation.


The Bono Regional Organiser also emphasised his conviction that Bawumia’s selection for the NPP flagbearer position will be guided by a paramount criterion of trust and compatibility.

According to Mr Gyan Yeboah, the chosen running mate should align with Bawumia’s vision, ideologies, and, most importantly, be someone in whom he places unreserved trust.

Mr Gyan Yeboah sees this trust as the foundation of a partnership that will not only complement Bawumia’s strength but also enhance the party’s prospects and overall success in the 2024 general elections.

Role of running mate

In Gyan Yeboah’s view, a running mate is more than a mere companion; he or she should be an unwavering pillar of support for Bawumia’s dreams and aspirations for the nation.

He insisted that the selected individual must embody a commitment to walk hand-in-hand with Bawumia, providing unequivocal support in turning his vision into tangible realities for the benefit of the dear nation.

Mr Gyan Yeboah concluded his statement by reiterating his unwavering support for Bawumia and the party.

He pledged not to be part of any group or individual attempting to influence the choice of a running mate, emphasising that Bawumia can only trust a brother.

Names springing up

Meanwhile, several names have popped up as potential running mate to partner him for the 2024 general elections.

The names for the running mate are from the Ashanti Region. Among the prominent figures whose names have emerged are Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Majority Leader in Parliament and Minister for Government Business; Akosua Frema Osei-Opare, Chief of Staff at the Presidency; Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP for Manhyia South and Minister of Energy.

The rest are Joseph Osei Owusu, MP for Bekwai and First Deputy Speaker of Parliament; Apostle Opoku Onyinah, former chairman of the Church of Pentecost; Isaac Osei, former MP for Subin and Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, MP for Bosomtwe and Minister of Education.



Content by: Bright Philip Donkor

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights